Josephine Baker's last dance : a novel
(Audio)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Contributors
Ojo, Adenrele, narrator.
Published
[Minneapolis, MN] : HighBridge, [2018].
Format
Audio
Edition
Unabridged.
ISBN
9781684414963, 1684414962
Physical Desc
11 audio discs (13 hr.) : CD audio, digital ; 4 3/4 in.
Status

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatus
Watauga Public Library - Books on CDF JONESOn Shelf

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

More Details

Published
[Minneapolis, MN] : HighBridge, [2018].
Edition
Unabridged.
Language
English
ISBN
9781684414963, 1684414962
UPC
9781684414963

Notes

General Note
Unabridged.
General Note
Compact discs.
Participants/Performers
Read by Adenrele Ojo.
Description
"From the author of The Jewel of Medina, a moving and insightful novel based on the life of legendary performer and activist Josephine Baker, perfect for fans of The Paris Wife and Hidden Figures. Discover the fascinating and singular life story of Josephine Baker--actress, singer, dancer, Civil Rights activist, member of the French Resistance during WWII, and a woman dedicated to erasing prejudice and creating a more equitable world--in Josephine Baker's Last Dance. In this illuminating biographical novel, Sherry Jones spans Josephine's early years in servitude and poverty in America, to her rise to fame as a showgirl in her famous banana skirt, to her activism against discrimination, and her many loves and losses. From 1920s Paris to 1960s Washington, to her final, triumphant performance, one of the most extraordinary lives of the twentieth century comes to stunning life on the page. With intimate prose and comprehensive research, Sherry Jones brings this remarkable and compelling public figure into focus for the first time in a joyous celebration of a life lived in technicolor, a powerful woman who continues to inspire today"--,Provided by publisher.

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Jones, S., & Ojo, A. (2018). Josephine Baker's last dance: a novel (Unabridged.). HighBridge.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Jones, Sherry, 1961- and Adenrele, Ojo. 2018. Josephine Baker's Last Dance: A Novel. HighBridge.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Jones, Sherry, 1961- and Adenrele, Ojo. Josephine Baker's Last Dance: A Novel HighBridge, 2018.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Jones, Sherry, and Adenrele Ojo. Josephine Baker's Last Dance: A Novel Unabridged., HighBridge, 2018.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.